Daddy’s Girl

By Nargis

Good Morning Monday Fam!

I hope this finds you all well and people are in high spirits looking forward to the upcoming week. For the kickoff blog of ‘thetransferpoint’ I decided to write on a topic that was in discussion over this past Fathers Day weekend.

I grew up with a father in my life. There have been times in my adolescence that I was not happy about this fact and wished he would disappear forever. But, with age comes maturity and I can say that I have developed a deep and profound love and appreciation for my dad who I affectionately call Pop. As a teenager I found myself listening to my friends and classmates Bad Daddy stories. As an adult I actually had a group of my high school students who sat together call themselves the “No Daddy Crew”. We have all had to bear witness or in some cases tell our stories about the man who was never a figure or factor in our lives. I used to feel so guilty when my friends would literally be a round table discussion of everyone trying to top the others daddy disappointment tale of woe and I had nothing but praise for Pop. I know some would count me blessed and I wouldn’t argue with them but I would add that others who do not have their biological fathers in their lives are equally if not more fortunate. It is not my ability to say my father was in my life that allows me to count my blessings but the type of men I have around me that I cherish.

Quality role models are a priceless commodity. A person who carries themselves with character that transfers to the people surrounding them is in high demand and my role model happened to be my Dad. It was not because he came together with my mother and created my siblings and myself but the character of my father that I had surrounding me all my life that I feel so appreciative of. He is the most dedicated man I have ever met in my life, painfully loyal (to a fault at times), crafty and a tenacious worker. I would like to say that I have inherited these traits from him. Others may look to different figures in their lives to emulate; a neighbor, a friends’ uncle, a teacher. We cannot take these societal positions for granted. Part of the reward of being a teacher for me is the ability to develop close mentor relationships with my students that they otherwise may not receive, even if their father is in their lives. I guess the point that I want to get across is that being appreciative for what you have is greater than being angry and depressed about what you don’t. Dismissive comments about not having a father or caring about a father riddled my facebook and my though is, are you going to be bitter about it or look at the figures you did have that were positive and be appreciative of them?

I know some people may think it’s easy for me to say this because I have a father figure and all that. I’m not saying I’m right, I’m just saying I have an opinion so please feel free to add yours.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

